Recipe Round-up

I did some cooking over the weekend, here’s what I made. This is my favorite healthy, easy and fabulous soup from Food and Wine Magazine.

Vegetable Soup with Fennel, Herbs and Parmesan Broth

I use chicken or vegetable stock in this rather than water, it adds to the flavor. I also put 3 yellow squash in with the rest of the veggies. It’s perfect to make, keep in the frig and eat on for several days. Leave the cheese rind and bay leaves in the pot when you refrigerate it, this will help keep the flavor.

Coriander Rice

Months ago I found a recipe for coriander rice, I lost the recipe so here’s my improvised version. I just made it this weekend and I’m not a big rice eater but I LOVE this recipe! It’s super easy.

1) Cut up a large onion and sauté in olive oil or butter until very soft
2) Make 2 packets of instant brown rice with vegetable or chicken stock rather than water.
3) Once it’s cooked add 2 tablespoons of crushed coriander, a bit of parsley, a splash of celery seed
4) Mix in onions and either 2 handfuls of fresh spinach or arugula.

That’s it. The heat of the rice and onions will wilt the spinach or arugula. The coriander gives the rice a wonderful taste. If you like a more fragrant and lively rice, add more coriander.

Here’s my what I’m making this week:

Brazilian Shrimp Soup


Asparagus Egg Drop Soup

Please send us your favorite recipes and any cooking advice you have!

