Walk (or run) a marathon in their shoes.

Last Saturday, thousands of K-5th graders descended upon Rice University’s Track & Field Stadium to start a journey to a healthier life. They made a commitment through the ‘Marathon Kids!‘ program to run, walk, hop, skip or jump the distance of a marathon (26.2 miles) in 6 months. And I almost forgot… healthy eating, like 5-a-day fruits and veggies, is part of the deal. (By the way, Marathon Kids has some great recipe suggestions for reaching that goal.) The best part is, Marathon Kids is free thanks to corporate sponsorship, countless volunteers, and the Physical Education teachers who help these children keep their promise.

(Pictures courtesy of Marathon Kids!)
If you’d like to add your pictures from the event to this slideshow, email me.

Marathon Kids Founder Kay Morris asked me to emcee the kick-off event this year. We had a blast! I was so inspired by the children and their families that I’ve decided to run my own marathon of sorts. I’m giving myself 30 days from today to walk or run 26.2 miles and I’ll document my progress (or lack there of) here at the blog. And now that I’ve told you my plans, I can’t back out! You know, I considered taking 6 months like the kids, but settled on one month… not to prove I’m faster than a 5th grader, but because I need no room for procrastinating.

If I don’t start running this week, forget about it!

