Can’t Get You Out of My Mind

The goal of any company’s branding is to implant their product in our heads, right?  Freecreditreport.com has succeeded.  One of our morning show production techs, Tim Hershbach, and I come to work most mornings singing those crazy songs (Tim, by the way, loves metal detecting — check out this site).  Apparently we listen to the same radio station and the commercials play at about the same time everyday.  Now, I’m not endorsing the service, since they make you since up for some credit watch program before giving you that free credit report.  Yeah, it’s a free trial membership, but still.  Plus, I just prefer Equifax to Experian.  But the commercials are still funny.

By the way – I’m not sure where I heard this but if you ever get a song stuck in your head sing the melody to Stan Getz’The Girl from Ipanema.”  But don’t sing the lyrics, because then you’ll get that song stuck in your head FOREVER!

2 Responses

  1. I don’t know how many times I’ve seen or heard these commercials! I have three of the songs memorized, but just saw a new one a few nights ago. Wonder how much longer they can use the same ones!

    The “Girl From Ipanema” is one of those songs that always gets stuck in my head… don’t know why. Makes me think of something you’d hear in an elevator.

    Well, hope y’all have a great weekend!

  2. yes the free credit report dot com commercials are brilliant for the reason(s) you listed but dude: that new one that is a hip-hop version of the beloved jingle with all the guys on bikes?
    JUMPED THE SHARK!
    just like the GEICO caveman ads. ya gotta know when to stop.
    A

Comments are closed.

