Happy St. Patty’s Day

shamrock_houston1

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  This year we look back at a piece of Houston history: The Shamrock Hotel.  It was built 60 years ago by the Glenn McCarthy family and was torn down in the late 1980’s by the Texas Medical Center.  (Location: Shamrock Dr./Pressler between Main and Holcombe) Mr. Tom Horan is leading a ceremony at exactly 9:00am to honor the hotel’s milestone birthday and remember the good ol’ days.  There will be a Jameson Irish Whiskey toast, a wreath laying, and longtime Shamrock Hotel’s vocalist Dick Kreuger will sing “When Irish Eyes are Smiling.”  The McCarthy family will also receive special recognition.

four-leaf_clover1

One Response

  1. I am a virgin blogger,but when i saw this about toasting the Shamrock, i wish i could have been there. My most happy childhood memories are connected with the Shamrock Hotel and the incredible pool there. I remember vividly when it was torn down, and that was a very sad day indeed…but, it was in no comparasion to all the good memories I still ponder to this day. I was on the synch swimming team there called the Corkettes (named after the cork club) and spent almost every spare hour all summer at that pool. Even alone in the rain…i was there.

    I with I could put it into words how much it meant to me, and many other kids and teens. We were kept busy, had a great place to congregate and socialize, had lofty goals of athletic success and we loved to entertain with our extravigant water shows! What a loss to Houston. Now it is a parking lot.

    So, here’s to the Shamrock! Cheers! I am lifting my glass a little late but, better late than never!

    wink

Comments are closed.

